Become a Police Officer
Hiring RequirementsTo be considered for employment, all applicants must, at a minimum:
- Be at least 21 years of age
- Be a United States citizen
- Have a high school diploma or equivalent
- Have or be able to obtain a valid South Carolina driver's license
- Have not had a driver's license suspension during the last 5 years for DUI; leaving the scene of an accident; reckless homicide; or involuntary manslaughter
- Have never been convicted of a felony or domestic violence
- Have never been convicted of a crime of moral turpitude or a misdemeanor carrying a possible sentence of more than 1 year
- Have not defaulted on a student loan
- Have a good credit history
Now Hiring! | How to Apply
The application for Police Officer will be open to lateral officer applicants only (sworn officers currently working at another agency) starting March 18, 2019.
The application for Police Officer will be open to all interested applicants starting April 1, 2019.
The application period will close for all applicants on April 19, 2019. All applications must be submitted prior to 11:59 p.m. on this date.
|Who May Apply||Application Opening Dates||Application Link|
|Lateral officers only||March 18-April 19, 2019||Apply Now|
|All interested applicants||April 1-19, 2019||Available April 1, 2019|
When you apply, make sure you have:
- Contact information for 5 references (3 professional / 2 personal)
- Job history with supervisor contact information for the past 10 years
- Information regarding active duty/military service (if applicable)
- Every city/state/county you have resided in since age 16
*Application portal recommended browsers: Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Edge
Once employed as a police officer with the GPD, all new hires register to attend the South Carolina Criminal Justice Academy (SCCJA) in Columbia, SC for 8 weeks. Prior to the 8-week class, all applicants receive 4 weeks of training via the online SCCJA training program at their home agency, and then must pass a cumulative test on the material. Certified officers from other states and military police may qualify for a shortened 1-week class at SCCJA after receiving 2 weeks of training via the online SCCJA training program at their home agency. The Greenville Police Department's Police Training Officer (PTO) program is 15-18 weeks (may be abbreviated for prior experience) and the probationary period is one year.
- $17.37 per hour ($38,839.75 annually based on 43-hour week)
- High school diploma (minimum qualification)
- $18.07 per hour ($40,393.34 annually based on 43-hour week)
- Associate degree
- Qualified veteran (includes those who have been honorably discharged from military service and those actively serving in Reserve or Guard forces)
- Qualified prior (non-lateral) policing experience
- $18.79 per hour ($42,009.07 annually based on 43-hour week)
- Bachelor's/Master's degree
- Language Incentive – add one step above base salary upon certification (see pay structure chart). For new hires, add one step after certification and completion of Field Training Program.
- Lateral Police Officer - grade and pay step placement based upon experience and formal training.
- Take home car program after successful completion of Field Training Program
- Tuition reimbursement up to $5,000 per fiscal year for approved undergraduate and graduate courses
- Comprehensive insurance & benefits plan
- Longevity bonuses paid every 5th year
- 28-year retirement
- 11 (8-hour) holidays per year
- Annual leave time as follows:
- 1st year of employment: 13 days
- 2nd through 10th years: 18 days
- 11th through 20th years: 23 days
- 21st year and beyond: 28 days